Banana Bread

Wow… anybody miss me the month of July?! I cannot believe it’s been so long since I’ve posted anything! Honestly, besides the fact that it was always too blasted hot to bake, I just felt the need to forget about the blog for a while. I know I’m not an everyday blogger, but I still felt like a break was needed.  It was a good break. I can’t really remember a whole lot of what went on in July (I mean, it was a whole month ago! And no, the memory loss was not due to alcohol!), but I know I enjoyed it.

One thing I do remember is that I got OVERLY excited that my hibiscus plants started blooming. Ryan will tell you that I’m a bit obsessed with these darn plants, but I worked so hard to make sure they bloomed, and they finally did! The flowers are all massive. Here are a few shots of them:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Getting a little burnt in the sun in the below pic, but shows how many we get on one plant!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay… this is a food blog. I should get back to business. I’m going to get back into the blogging world with something most people have a recipe for. Banana bread. Personally, I like my banana bread with chocolate chips in them and peanut butter spread on top, but I have a husband who likes neither, so we get plain jane bread. I will also say that the pictures of the banana bread are not a correct representation of what it looks like. I somehow got fluffy banana bread (I’m thinking it’s due to mixing some of the ingredients, then having to wait around 10 minutes for eggs to be delivered. Please don’t judge that I didn’t have eggs on hand. I just got back from a work trip!) but the bread is normally like a typical dense bread. It’s yummy either way, but I like the normal banana bread better 🙂

The recipe came from my grandma, who happens to be an excellent cook and baker. Another tried and true recipe for the recipe box 🙂

 
Banana Bread

Recipe from: Grandma O

1 3/4 c. sifted all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/3 c. shortening

2/3 c. sugar

2 eggs

1 c. mashed bananas

Sift first four ingredients together. Set aside.  Gradually add sugar to shortening, creaming thoroughly; beat in eggs, one at a time. Stir in bananas, then flour mixture, beating just until smooth. Bake at 350 degrees in a 9 x 5 x 3 bread pan (greased) for 45-50 minutes or until done when tested. Turn out on wire rack when cooled 5 minutes.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 14:35:48

    I have this recipe from your mom..,she gave it to me many years ago…it is the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

