Lemon Meringue Pie

If there’s one thing Ryan requests time and time again, it’s pie. If there’s one thing Ryan doesn’t get time and time again, it’s pie. I just don’t like making pie! I know it’s not THAT hard, but since I don’t like pie, I have a heck of a time making one. Lucky for Ryan, it was his birthday a few weeks ago and I promised I’d bake him whatever he wanted. It just had to be pie- and it must be lemon meringue.

From the first time Ryan tried my mom’s lemon meringue pie, he was hooked. The zippy lemon flavor paired with the towering meringue-what isn’t there to love? Plus, it’s made from my grandma’s tried and true recipe. You just can’t mess with a recipe that’s been used for years and years and years.

After waiting a good three weeks after Ryan’s birthday, he turned to me and said, “So…today’s the day you’re going to make that pie?!”  *insert twinkling eyes here*  I decided it was now or never, so I called my mom, went over a few directions and started making the pie. A few more calls, a few “I don’t think it’s going to taste good!” statements, and one very overworked Dottie due to the meringue taking 25 minutes just to semi-set on speed 10 (it should only take 5-1o minutes for a stiff consistency meringue), the pie was done. And guess what. Ryan said it tasted just like my mom’s! Success at its finest! 🙂

Poor Dottie working her magic on speed 10:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoy this family recipe!

Lemon Meringue Pie

Recipe from Grandma Helen S.

Makes 2 pies

*Use deep dish pie plates*

Graham cracker crust

Double the below recipe, as pie recipe makes two pies

1 1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs

1/4 c. sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 c. butter or margarine, melted

Combine all ingredients, and press into glass pie plate

Pie filing

1 large and 1 small box of lemon cook and serve pudding

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 c. lemon juice (use Minute Maid Premium, found in the freezer section if possible)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 egg yolks

3 c. water

dash of salt, and a little butter

Meringue
9 egg whites- Eggs must sit out at least 4 hours

1 c. sugar

Mix pie filling, sugar, and lemon juice together. Add egg yolks and water. Cook on medium- high until thick, bringing to a rapid boil. Make sure to stir constantly! Add a dash of salt and a little butter.  Cool 5 minutes, stirring twice.  Pour into cooled pastry crusts.

For Meringue: Make according to box, but instead of 3 egg yolks and 1/3 c. sugar, add the 9 whites and 1 c. sugar. Bake as directed, until slightly to golden brown.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle84
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 21:00:14

    I had to request a new password because I forgot the old one! Anyway, YUM!!!!!! I love looking at these pictures… mouthwatering…. and POOR DOTTIE!!

    Reply

  2. Meg's Everyday Indulgence
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 21:02:20

    We just had Lemon Meringue Pie too…but I was lazy and bought mine from Village Inn since I also hate making pie. It’s Joel’s favorite so that was his request for Father’s Day. I’ll have to give your recipe a try!

    Reply

  3. Kate's Mom
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 16:51:09

    Well done Kate!! A note for any of you who are going to try this, I think the reason Kate had trouble with mixing the merangue was becasue it was quite hot and humid that day. Merangue does not like humidity!! Good thing Ryan like pie!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

