Happy Mother’s Day!

To celebrate Mother’s Day, I wanted to honor the one person in my life (besides Jesus) who has been my main supporter, rooting me on every step of my life… that person is my mom.

My mom:

  • Has been there before day one, loving me, and having high aspirations for my life
  • Spent the first day of Spring in 1985 bringing me into this crazy world
  • Gave me her curly, unruly hair 🙂
  • Never gave up on me, no matter how feisty, naughty, mean, rude, unappreciative, and  distant I was
  • Believed in me (and still does!)
  • Continues to play Sorry! and other board games with me when I’m home
  • Is stronger and more determined than any other person I know
  • Has a wonderful sense of humor, and a fantastic smile (pic shows the humor, not the smile! 😉 )
  • Cares immensely not only for me, but for the rest of our family, her friends, and also patients she sees at work
  • Helped save my life 11 years ago, even when I didn’t want to be saved
  • Has a poofy head of white hair, and wouldn’t want it any other way
  • Taught me how to be a strong, confident, self- sufficient person
  • Collects marbles on my behalf
  • Makes wonderful desserts (Like mother, like daughter?!:) )
  • Is a ridiculously talented quilter
  • Loves my kitty since I can’t have her in my home
  • Always has time to listen to me- whether I’m complaining, bragging, laughing, or crying, she’s there when I call
  • Put up with me not showing her what my wedding dress looked like until the day of my wedding
  • Lights up a room with her personality
  • Loves God, and walks side by side with her personal Savior Jesus every day (!!!)
  • Never asks for anything in return
  • Used to sew my sister and I matching Christmas dresses- Don’t worry mom, I forgive you for doing that to us!
  • Is beautiful, inside and out
  • Will love me as long as she’s on this planet- how cool is that?
  • Lets my sister and me stick our tongues on her for a photo

My mom is so many things besides the above, but there’s not enough time in the day, or space on my blog to post it all.

Mom, thank you for being you, and nobody else. I know I don’t tell you enough how much you mean to me, but know that each and every day,  I am SO thankful that I’m your daughter. Love you more than I can comprehend!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Britt
    May 13, 2012 @ 20:59:57

    Little Sister – That was the best mother’s day present any mom could ask for. I am so impressed and in tears right now. That was beautiful, funny, smart, touching and expresses everything that mom is and always will be!
    Love you!
    Britt

    Reply

  2. Kate's Mom
    May 13, 2012 @ 21:16:19

    I have the BEST daughters in the whole world. Thank you both from the bottom of my little heart. Love you both!! mom

    Reply

  3. Mary Jo Franske
    May 13, 2012 @ 22:50:46

    Hey, she’s not my mother, but her “friend” qualities are equally stellar!

    shall I count the ways….?

    Reply

  4. crizzle84
    May 13, 2012 @ 23:47:55

    Am I able to comment yet? I am in tears right now!!!!

    Reply

  5. karen
    May 22, 2012 @ 21:04:56

    What a sweet and wonderful tribute to your awesome Mom – she makes wonderful cards to :).

    Karen

    Reply

  6. Elaine
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 12:52:30

    sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

