{Mini} Monster Cookies

A few weeks back, a co-worker brought in monster cookies. I had one…or two (she guilted me into the second!). I went home craving monster cookies, and waited two days before caving in and making my own. I had a good excuse to make them though- Ryan was leaving for the week, and I wanted him to have some treats to share with the people he was working for, and for family members he was staying with. Plus, that meant that I could limit how many I kept behind for me to indulge in, which is definitely a benefit given I had 84 cookies total.

I’ve always enjoyed making monster cookies not in monster-size. They are easier to bake, store, and eat. Plus, I find them to be cuter in small form 🙂 This recipe can be used for big or small cookies- no set size required here!

Monster Cookies

1 1/2 c. peanut butter- not generic or reduced fat

1/2 c. butter, softened

1 c. sugar

1 c. packed brown sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

4 1/2 c. quick-cooking oats

2 tsp. baking soda

1 c. miniature chocolate chips

1 c. M&Ms miniture baking bits, or 1/2- 3/4 c. regular M&Ms

In a large mixing bowl, cream peanut butter, butter, and sugars. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine oats and baking soda; gradually add to creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate chips and M&Ms.

Drop by heaping tablespoons 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes or until edges are browned.  Remove to wire racks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle84
    May 13, 2012 @ 23:50:22

    Making these with Molly sometime this week! Excited! I have never made monster cookies before, except for with my mom when I was a wee lass!

    Reply

  2. crizzle84
    May 14, 2012 @ 00:03:51

    Oh, and yes we WILL be using generic, thank you very much! I’ll let you know! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

