Happy birthday…{to me!}

When asked what I want for my birthday each year, there’s only one thing I TRULY want- a cake, and it’s either an ice cream cake from Dairy Queen or a marble cake with chocolate frosting. Most years I’ll get one a few days after my birthday when Ryan and I get together with my family to celebrate my sister and my birthdays. Ryan’s completely against making homemade frosting for a cake, and he doesn’t like ice cream cake, so I usually go cake-less on my birthday.

When I saw this polka dot cake on SnowyBliss’s blog, I thought it’d be the perfect birthday cake for me. Vain a bit? It’s my birthday- I can be! 🙂 I love all things polka dots, so finding out you can make cakes with polka dots, I about died. Super cute, and didn’t look too terrible hard to make.

The polka dots are made by using a Babycakes Pop Maker. My mom scored a new one for $6.00 around Christmas and gave me it. I also decided to color my pops so I used fuchsia gel dye to make those babies vibrant.

I didn’t follow SnowyBliss’s directions completely, but wish I would have followed a little closer, as my pops weren’t covered with batter and they ended up being a little dry on top. Other than that, the cake was easy to assemble, looks fun, and tastes great!

Polka Dot Cake

1 boxed cake

Ingredients for the pops (found in the Babycakes recipe booklet)

Gel dyes- optional

Frosting of your choice- I used a chocolate fudge buttercream found on this post 

Step 1:

Make the cake pops as directed within the Babycakes booklet. If you want colored pops, once batter is mixed, squeeze dye in until desired color is found.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2:

Make cake batter as directed on the box instructions. Pour a small amount in a greased and floured 9 inch round pan. Push half the pops into the batter. Repeat with a second 9 inch round pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3:

Divide the remaining batter between the two round pans and pour on top of the cake pops.

Step 4:

Cook the cake, checking after the directed time to see if a toothpick comes out clean. I baked mine about 7-10 minutes extra. Let your cakes cool on a wire rack.

Step 5:

Make your frosting.

Step 6:

If your cakes are rounded on top, use a knife to level them off. Put one cake on a plate,  put some frosting on top and spread around the cake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take the second cake and place on top of the frosting. Use remaining frosting to frost entire cake.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Jo franske
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 07:37:42

    Cute as a bug’s ear! Happy birthday, Kate!

    Reply

  2. Kate's Mom
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 21:13:51

    Kate’s birthday cake looked much cuter than mine!! Kate’s mom

    Reply

  3. crizzle84
    May 13, 2012 @ 23:57:54

    Ryan is AGAINST home-made frosting for a cake, and DOESN’T LIKE ice cream cake?! Who exactly did you marry!?!? Who IS THIS GUY?! Poor widdle wifey going cake-less on her bdiddy!!!

    Reply

  4. crizzle84
    May 13, 2012 @ 23:58:09

    p.s. That cake… is AMAZING.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

