Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

I love pumpkin, and am quite surprised I haven’t posted more pumpkin recipes on this blog. In fact, I’ve only posted one recipe including pumpkin, and that was way back in October! I must be going insane for not sharing more pumpkin items!

This morning, I had a huge craving for pumpkin bread. I pulled out my chocolate chip pumpkin bread recipe and excitedly found out I had all the ingredients I needed. I started measuring and mixing, and before I knew it, my bread was in the oven giving off a wondering pumpkin and nutmeg aroma. After what seemed like days, the bread came out of the oven delicious, and begging to be eaten.

I’d write more about my love of pumpkin, but lucky for you, my bread is calling my name! I need to go cut another slice and enjoy this lovely bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

3 c. sugar

1- 15 oz can pumpkin puree

1 c. vegetable oil

2/3 c. water

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

3/1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

1-2 tsp ground nutmeg (depending on how much of the nutmeg flavor you like)

2 tsp baking soda

1 c. chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour three 9 x 5 loaf pans. In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, oil, water, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until smooth. Blend in flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and baking soda. Fold in chocolate chips.

Divide batter equally between pans, and bake for 1 hour, or until knife comes out clean. Cool on a rack before removing from pans.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Jo franske
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 16:52:46

    Always a treat to get one of your posts. I’m still googling about your post about DIsneyworld!

    Muffet

    Reply

  2. Kate's Mom
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 22:35:37

    What I find interesting is that when it came time to carve those pumpkins, my children disappeared!! They didn’t like that slimey stuff inside the pumpkins and now one of them is cooking with pumpkin! Amazing!:):) Kate’s mom

    Reply

  3. crizzle84
    May 14, 2012 @ 00:03:02

    I made this in the middle of Spencie’s diet. Ooops! 🙂 Molly and I of course LOVED it and scarfed a loaf- the second I gave as part of a “Congratulations on the new baby” meal. Oh and I cut that sugar way down!! Super yummy, totally bringing some to our first MOPS meeting in the fall!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

