Sugar Cookie Bars

I’ll be frank about this recipe. When I tried it, I received mixed reviews. Perhaps it was the fact that I over baked in fear that the dough wasn’t done. Perhaps I have a picky husband. Perhaps those that tried a bar didn’t get a middle piece, which, in my opinion, is always the best. I’m pretty sure all three contributed to some saying they liked them, others saying they were okay, and one certain husband saying they were too “fluffy”. You can ask my husband about that one!

I actually didn’t mind the bars one bit. I’m not a huge sugar cookie fan, but these were the right amount of dough to frosting, and not so sweet your teeth hurt while eating them. The bars are super easy to make, and you get a HUGE amount if making the full batch. Honestly, beware if you’re not looking to have 30+ sugar cookie bars sitting around at your house!

I really do think if I hadn’t over baked the dough, the bars would have been so much better. Who likes a dry bar?! Plus, all the reviews online were fantastic, so I know I’m not the only one out there liking these bars! So take my word for it, and don’t over bake, even though the dough doesn’t look like it’s done, it most likely is!

 

Sugar Cookie Bars

Recipe from A Little Bit Crunchy, A Little Bit Rock n’ Roll

1 c. unsalted butter, at room temperature

2 c. sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

5 c. flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Meanwhile, mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Add the vanilla to the creamed mixture and then slowly add the dry ingredients.

Press into a greased 13 x 18 inch pan and bake at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

Cool and frost.

Frosting:

1/2 c. unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 c. shortening

1 tsp. vanilla

4 c. powdered sugar

5 tbsp. milk

sprinkles (optional)

food coloring (optional)

In a mixing bowl, beat the shortening and butter until creamy. Add the vanilla and powdered sugar. Gradually add the 5 tablespoons of milk until you reach your desired consistency.

If you would like a colored frosting, add food coloring to achieve the color you are hoping for.

Spread frosting on bars, and decorate with sprinkles.

Leave a Reply

