Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

“Who stole the cookie from the cookie jar?”  “Kate stole the cookie from the cookie jar.” “Who me?” “Yes, you!” “Couldn’t be!” “Then who?” Anybody else remember the Cookie Jar song from elementary school? My friends and I used to sing that song all the time at recess. Ah, the good ol’ days. Now I just get annoyed when that darn song gets stuck in my head when I’m putting freshly made cookies in the cookie jar!

This super easy and scrumptious cookie recipe comes from my Aunt Judy, who is an amazing cook and baker. These cookies have a definite peanut butter taste to them, but aren’t overwhelmingly peanut buttery. The addition of chocolate chips gives each cookie the right ratio of chocolate to peanut butter, and gives each cookie a little personality. They’re also soft in the middle with a crispy outside, which is just the way I like my cookies 🙂

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe from my Aunt Judy

2 3/4 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 c. butter

3/4 c. peanut butter (not generic!)

1 c. brown sugar

3/4 c. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs

1 c. chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Mix together flour and baking soda in a medium side bowl.

In a mixer or large bowl, mix butter, brown sugar, sugar, and vanilla until light. Add eggs and blend well.  Add peanut butter. Mix well.  Add dry ingredients; beat until just blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Bake for 9-12 minutes, depending on the size of your cookies. I baked for 9 minutes for cookies that were 1 tablespoon in size.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle84
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 14:01:01

    Making these. SOON. mmmm… or maybe you could just send me some!? As in RIGHT NOW!??!

    Reply

  2. Molly S
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 18:38:43

    Am I blind or does it not tell me how much peanut butter to use?

    Reply

  3. crizzle84
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 19:39:14

    Question: Why not generic?? If you don’t have a reeeeally good answer, I’m doing it anyway!

    Reply

    • Dottilicious Sweets and Treats
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 08:12:16

      Generic is typically a little drier than name brand peanut butter, and due to that, can make the cookies drier. The generic is also typically not as smooth, which I’m assuming is due to the fact that it’s drier. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Reply

  4. crizzle84
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 18:14:20

    Mmm making a TON of these tonight! They are SCRUMPTIOUS!! (and I used generic!:)

    Reply

  5. Kate's Mom
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 22:41:59

    Way to be a rebel crizzle!! Proud of you. :):)

    Reply

  6. crizzle84
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 09:34:18

    Thanks, Mom!! I have a feeling Kate is secretly mad at me for using generic! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

