Lime Chicken Tacos

I’m going to tell you a secret…one that no longer will be a secret since I’m telling the whole blogging world. Crock pot recipes scare me! The whole “fix it and forget it” deal? I can fix it, but I certainly don’t forget about it cooking in the crock pot, especially when I’m not home. I get nervous that something will go wrong, the crock pot will explode, and my house will be set on fire. Dramatic much? I think so. My life certainly could be a lot easier if I just trusted the darn crock pot more often!

This lime chicken taco crock pot recipe was delightfully easy. I say that because Ryan made it 🙂 But really, he also said it was easy. It’s about a 4-5 step recipe, and you’re done. These are the kind of recipes that make me happy! Plus, the taste of the chicken was great. I think Ryan and I both expected a little more lime flavor, so we’ll definitely add more lime juice the next time around. Other than that though, the lime chicken is a lovely spin on your traditional tacos. Sometimes it’s nice to switch things up, isn’t it?!

By the way, as you’ll see, the photos aren’t the greatest. Do you know how hard it is to take nice pictures when it’s so dark out?! Darn near impossible if you’re me! My little camera just doesn’t do well unless it’s in daylight 😦

Lime Chicken Tacos

Recipe from Taste of Home

1 1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts

3 Tbsp. lime juice – I added around 5 Tbsp and felt like it could have had just a little more. If you’re not sure, start with three Tbsp of juice, shred the chicken, taste it, and add more if you feel it could use a little more flavor.

1 Tbsp. chili powder

1 c. frozen corn – we omitted this, as Ryan doesn’t like corn

1 c. chunky salsa

12 flour tortillas

Small red onion- completely optional- it wasn’t part of the recipe, but we sliced up one and put it in.

Sour cream, lettuce, cheese, tomatoes, green peppers, etc.

Directions

Place the chicken in a 3 qt slow cooker. Combine the lime juice and chili powder, and pour over chicken. Cover and cook on low for 5-6 hours, or until chicken is tender.

Remove chicken; cool slightly. Shred meat with two forks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Return to cooker; heat through. Stir in corn and salsa. This looked and smelled so yummy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover and cook on low for 30 minutes or until heated through. Serve in tortillas with sour cream, lettuce, cheese, etc if desired.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle84
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:37:28

    Making this right now! Starting out with 4 T lime juice. I had to go to the store to get some, we only had lemon juice in the fridge. This morning I asked Spencer if I should try substituting so it’s lemon chicken tacos… he said that sounded weird. Oh! Also! I can’t believe your crockpot is not your best friend!!! Become aquainted with her more. She will never let you down. Just ask my friend Lacey, who wants to find a bridesmaid dress for her crockpot to be the maid of honor at her wedding! 😀

    Reply

  2. crizzle84
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 21:23:15

    This was devoured. When using hard shell tacos, I’d estimate it makes 12 – 15 tacos, our only topping was cheese and it was amazing… Ryan HAS to at least try it with the corn kernels!! Gives it such a great texture. Our leftovers were eaten for lunch the next day with tortilla chips.

    Reply

  3. crizzle84
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 21:24:27

    OH! Okay, last comment by me – I ended up using 6 Tbsp lime. 6 was the ticket! 🙂

    Reply

  4. crizzle84
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 14:33:07

    So I guess that WASN’T the last comment by me! Made this for the in-laws and added left-over black beans, sooo yummy with the corn! RYAN!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

