Crazy-Easy Apple-Stuffing Pork Chops!

Hi all!  Just so you know, this is NOT Kate, but the next best thing… her dear wife, Crystal! 😉  Also, just for the record, I have NEVER written a blog in my LIFE.  The first time Kate suggested me being a guest blogger for her, I thought she was joking.  But, during a recent conversation which was very heavily food-related (okay, actually the entire purpose of the phone call was to talk about food…), I was telling her about this recipe and she again told me to write a blog.  Under the powerful conviction that every person should have this recipe memorized, I consented… for the greater good of humankind.

I received this recipe from a very dear friend of mine, Kristina, who is a wonder woman in the kitchen as well as in life in general.  I get so much inspiration from her kind, generous, patient, sweet spirit.  On the recipe card she wrote out for me, it is titled simply, “Pork Chops with Apples and Stuffing”.  Every time I make this, my husband is basically in heaven.  As it bakes, it fills the house with a warm, happy aroma that makes you excited for Thanksgiving; it is the BEST quick recipe for a chilly autumn day!  The bottom layer of apple pie filling is like eating your dessert right along with your dinner.  Something I was confused about before the first time I made it was that you put the chops in the oven raw.  Don’t worry.  They will come out in perfect deliciousness, cooked through, and just add to the easiness of this recipe.

Side note:  Not until about a year ago did I find out how very nutritious pork is for you!  Many cuts of pork are as lean or leaner than chicken, including these chops!

“Pork Chops with Apples & Stuffing”

1 package (6 oz) chicken stuffing mix

(4 Tbsp butter to make the stuffing)

1 can (21 oz) apple pie filling  (or, if you’re Kate, you’ll probably just make your own homemade apple pie filling;)

4-6 boneless pork loin chops

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is seriously all you need.  Yes, I do shop off-brand at Wal-Mart.  Don’t judge me.

Heat oven to 375.  Prepare the stuffing as directed.  This is as hard as it gets.

Spread the pie filling onto the bottom of a 9×9 inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.  Top with uncooked chops, then stuffing, and cover with foil.

Apple pie filling topped with uncooked chops.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bake 30 minutes, take the foil off and bake an additional 10 minutes.

Take it out and DEVOUR.  Yes, that easy.  Make sure you have some cheery Christmas music playing while your house is filled with what Heaven must smell like.

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica McKinley
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 12:39:23

    LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!! Looks scrumptious!

    Reply

  2. Dottilicious Sweets and Treats
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 17:15:54

    A thought: For bigger families (more than 4 people), or for more leftovers, double it in a 9×13 pan!

    Reply

  3. Mary Fransen Schmidt
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 19:14:22

    This has amazing flavor. Thanks Crystal.

    Reply

  4. Kat
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 12:17:38

    I think for your first blog you did great & that it looks & sounds delicious!! I can’t wait to try it!!! My stomach started growling when I saw the finished picture, lol!! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  5. crizzle84
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 16:04:52

    Thanks, ladies! Hope you love it as much as we do!

    Reply

  6. Rai
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 18:41:07

    I made this tonigt of supper and I was great. My husband suggested that we make it a normal meal. It took about 70 mins total to get the meet to the right temp but the extra 35 mins were well worth it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

