Apple Crisp

I recently received some apples from a friend, and wasn’t sure I’d get around to using them since Ryan is typically gone during the week and I got them on a Monday. I figured they’d go bad and it would be a waste of apples. Well, I was pleasantly surprised when they lasted until this last weekend. I told Ryan we had to use them and we agreed that apple crisp would be the perfect treat to make. Thank goodness he didn’t want pie!

I always forget how easy apple crisp is. Slice up the apples, mix a few ingredients in a bowl and viola! You’ve got apple crisp. It’s even easier if you have one of these:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For as long as I can remember, my mom has had one of these and used it when peeling apples. Quick, easy, and minimal cleanup. Ours come from The Pampered Chef, but I’m thinking cooking/baking stores may sell them. It also works on potatoes if you’re looking for a multi-purpose reason to get it.

I ended up making two batches of apple crisp, so Ryan could bring one back to his aunt and uncle’s (I should be the favorite niece by now! 😉 ) house where he stays when he’s been working so they can enjoy the apples we received as well. I absolutely love the smell of apple crisp and how it lingers in the house well after it’s done baking. Completely a fall scent!

We always have apple crisp with either a dollop of whipped topping or ice cream…lots of ice cream!

Apple Crisp

Recipe from Betty Crocker

4 medium tart cooking apples, sliced (4 cups)

3/4 c. packed brown sugar

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats

1/3 c. butter or margarine, softened

3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

3/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Grease bottom and sides of an 8-inch square pan with shortening.

Spread apples in pan. In medium bowl, stir remaining ingredients until well mixed; sprinkle over apples.

Bake about 30 minutes or until topping is golden brown and apples are tenders when pierced with a form.

Serve warm.

Don’t mind the shadow in the picture….I was being too impatient and wanted to eat my apple crisp before getting a better picture!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle84
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 11:32:25

    This is why you’re my wife.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

