Sweet and Sour Chicken

I don’t like Chinese food. I also don’t like Japanese, Korean, Indian, and any other kind of food that is similar to those I’ve mentioned (Yes, they all vary in tastes and whatnot, but to me, they’re pretty much the same). I never have, and for the most part, probably never will. I grew up with a family that likes stir-fry and rice, and would let me go hungry (the horror!) when I refused to eat it. That kind of food is just not my thing.

That being said, I tried a sweet and sour recipe about 6 months ago when trying to bring in new meals for my monthly menu. Yes, I’m crazy and plan out meals 30 days in advance. Yes, I love every moment of trying to determine which meal goes where and make sure it wasn’t made the month before…it’s quite therapeutic! Yes, Ryan tries his hardest to screw up every menu I make, and laughs when he’s able to. Men. Psh.

Back to the recipe! I was nervous to try this recipe due to the fact that I don’t like Chinese food. I figured I was wasting my time, food, and energy on something I’d hate. Guess what? I LOVE this recipe. So does Ryan, so it’s an added bonus. The flavor is wonderful, and not overwhelming. The chicken itself, paired with rice, is a “stick to your bones” kind of meal. I’ll admit it’s the ONLY meal I like that is Chinese. You can’t make me like anything else! Okay…I might like the cream cheese wontons… 🙂  I will note that I’ve never had the sweet and sour chicken from Chinese restaurants, so I have no idea how the taste compares to restaurant recipes.

I’m not going to lie. This recipe takes a bit of prep work. There’s cornstarch involved. If you’re anything like me, you get goosebumps when having to touch cornstarch, and it’s not the good kind of goosebumps. The texture of cornstarch is like fingernails on a chalkboard to me. ICK! I will say though, that the prep work is completely worth it. This sweet and sour chicken is delish!

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

Chicken:

3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 c. cornstarch

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 c. canola oil/olive oil

Sauce:

3/4 c. white sugar

4 Tbsp. ketchup

1/2 c. vinegar

1 Tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp. garlic salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Cut chicken breasts into chunks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dip chicken in cornstarch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and then in egg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fry in a little oil until brown but not cooked through (I sometimes fry in batches, since the chicken pieces dipped in egg stick together).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Place in a single layer in a baking dish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mix sauce together and pour over chicken.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bake for 1 hour, turning chicken every 15 minutes.  If you like extra sauce, make another batch of sauce and bring it to a boil on the stove top. Stir constantly and let cook over medium heat until thickened and reduced 8-10 minutes.

Serve chicken over rice.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle84
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:16:00

    Totally had a dream last night that I made this for dinner and Spencie LOVED it!! Planning on making it next week sometime.

    Reply

  2. emily
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 23:46:34

    You make me smile! I may have to try this one day 🙂

    Reply

  3. kate's mom
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 22:11:53

    Yes, Kate did go hungry when we had Chinese food. She said it was “disgusting!” Good thing we didn’t have it very often. kate’s mom

    Reply

  4. crizzle84
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 17:26:58

    WE ARE DEVOURING THIS RIGHT NOW. Spencer is in HEAVEN. Also: If you’ve never had the sweet & sour chicken at a Chinese restaurant, maybe that’s why you think you hate Chinese. EVERYONE who’s anyone loves sweet & sour chicken!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

