Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon-Cream Cheese Frosting

It’s the second, most wonderful time of the year! Leaves are changing color and falling to the ground, pumpkin is the most popular flavor for drinks, food, scents, etc., it’s not so blasted hot ( Well, I take that back. This week is supposed to be in the 80’s! Holy cannoli!), and the air has a great crisp to it that just makes me smile. I always feel that in the fall I need to make pumpkin-flavored muffins, breads, cupcakes, cakes, etc., because it’s “the time” to make all of that. The rest of the year, pumpkin doesn’t seem as well liked for treats. Don’t get me wrong, I could eat most pumpkin treats everyday! It’s everybody else that claims pumpkin as only Fall appropriate. 😦

When I saw the recipe for these pumpkin cupcakes, I immediately flagged the page as a “must make” recipe. Anybody else out there do that with magazines/recipe books? I probably flag 6-8 recipes every time I get a food magazine. Don’t ask how many of those I’ve actually been able to make! Any who, the recipe boasts some serious pumpkin flavor due to key ingredients of spice cake mix and pumpkin puree. This is more dense than your typical cupcake, but still has the cupcake attitude and charm people love.

This cupcake is paired with a yummy cinnamon cream cheese frosting, which I feel just adds to the deliciousness of the cupcake. The cupcake is great by itself, but topped with the frosting, these two were certainly meant to be together! Just like Ryan and me, right?! Okay, okay… not exactly the same, but you know what I mean!

Grab some apple cider or coffee, and enjoy a pumpkin cupcake or two!

Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon-Cream Cheese Frosting

Recipe from Kraft Food and Family

1 pkg. (2-layer size) spice cake mix

1 c. sour cream

1 can (15 oz) pumpkin

1/4 c. oil

1 pkg ( 8 oz) cream cheese, softened

1/4 c. butter, softened

1 tsp. vanilla

1 pkg (16 oz) powdered sugar

1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat first 5 ingredients with mixer until well blended; spoon into 24 paper-lined muffin cups.

Bake 20-22 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes; remove from pans. Cool completely.

Beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until well blended. Gradually beat in sugar. Blend in cinnamon.  Spread over cupcakes.

*Store frosted cupcakes in refrigerator*


By the way, how cute is this dessert plate?! I got a set of 4 on clearance at Macy’s, and couldn’t be happier! I also have a large dessert platter with the same theme and love it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess Almlie
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 10:06:17

    Kate – TOO Funny! I JUST made these this weekend. Yum! I thought they were especially good after they chilled a bit in the fridge. I heart Kraft Food and Family magazine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

