Fudge Brownies

Oh.My.Gosh. These brownies will put any boxed mix to shame! So good! I’ll be the first person to say that I like the boxed mixes you can get in the grocery store. They are quick and easy, and quite tasty as well. Once you taste these brownies though, you’re going to wish you had made this recipe every time instead of the box.

I’m a “double boxer” baker when it comes to brownies. I enjoy brownies that are not paper-thin, and barely look like they are brownies so I use two boxes instead of just one. Ryan is completely the opposite of me. He’d take one of those paper-thin brownies any day. Unfortunately for Ryan, I’m typically the brownie maker, and I get the brownies I want! 🙂

Brownies remind me of my high school and early college days when my friend Karoline and I would hang out. We’d order a Tomacelli’s pepperoni and mushroom pizza, make a box of brownies, grab a movie, and either chat about life or fall asleep and wake up to the end of the movie. Sounds like the place to be, right?! Brownies were always a staple of those nights, and I think they just completed the essence of a girls night. I’m pretty sure that almost all gatherings that Karoline and I were at included brownies. Us without brownies is like having velcro shoes without the velcro. It’s just wrong!

Here’s a little gem I found from Valentine’s Day 2004 of Karoline and me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These fudge brownies are moist (I can’t believe I just wrote that! I do not like to even hear that word said out loud!)  and chocolatey, two things brownies should always be. They are also beyond easy to make, so there are no excuses for using those boxed mixes anymore!

Fudge Brownies

Recipe from King Arthur Flour, adapted by a blogger I can’t remember. Sorry to the gal that modified it!

1 c. (2 sticks) butter

2 1/4 c. c sugar

4 large eggs

1 1/4 c. cocoa powder

1 tsp. salt, optional

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. espresso powder, optional

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 c. all- purpose flour

2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter or spray a 9 x 13 baking dish.

In a small saucepan over low heat, melt butter completely. Stir in sugar and continue cooking for 1-2 minutes, stirring constantly. Do not allow sugar mixture to boil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour butter mixture into a large bowl or stand mixer. Beat in cocoa powder, eggs, salt, baking powder, espresso powder, and vanilla extract. Mix until well combined.

Stir in the flour and chocolate chips until well combined.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 30 minutes, until a tester comes out mostly clean.  The edges should be set and the center should still look slightly moist (Ugh! That word again!) but not uncooked. Cool on a wire rack.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 21:50:32

    m-m-m=m. I want some NOW!

    Reply

  2. crizzle
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 23:35:31

    I SECOND JANE. Yummm. And lil Miss Kate from 2004, I hardly knew ye. Okay, so I didn’t know you at ALL.
    This post had me giggling! I have such a funny wife, aww. Not to mention… she bakes!!
    p.s. I do not own 2 out of 3 powders listed in ingredients…

    Reply

  3. crizzle
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 09:20:43

    Oooh! Good to know! I could do it if all I need to get is cocoa powder!

    Reply

  4. Maureen
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 20:39:31

    I love that you said “tester comes out mostly clean” Key word being MOSTLY. As you clearly know, if you wait until the toothpick is completely clean you have some dry baked goods . . . I prefer moist 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

