Oatmeal Whoopie Pies

Whoopie Pies. Such a strange name, right? When I tell people I’m making whoopie pies, they ALWAYS give me a weird look, and most exclaim, “What the heck are whoopie pies?!” Simply put, whoopie pies are two cookies with filling in between. A lot of times, you’ll see chocolate and pumpkin whoopie pies when bakeries offer them. While I’ve never tried the chocolate or pumpkin, I’m sure both would be excellent flavors for a cookie sandwich.

If you didn’t know, Little Debbie’s Oatmeal Creme Pies are considered whoopie pies. Until I came across this homemade version, I had no idea they were, nor did I know what a whoopie pie was. Don’t feel as embarrassed for not knowing now, do you?! Let me tell you, homemade oatmeal whoopie pies are so much better than the pre-packaged, store-bought pies. Plus, you get more for your money when you bake them at home. I’m not going to tell you not to buy those packaged treats, as I fondly remember eating more than my share of the Oatmeal Creme Pies, but once you try this recipe, you’re going to want them from scratch every time.

I’ve made these cookies many times. I don’t think I’ve had one bad thing said about them, which is always nice when you bake treats for people 🙂 I’ve even managed to impress Ryan’s grandma, which is great. Grandma Angie is a wonderful woman of few words and expressions, but lights up when she sees that I’ve brought or sent whoopie pies with when visiting. If these can impress Grandma Angie, they can impress you too!

Oatmeal Whoopie Pies

Cookies:

2 c. packed brown sugar

3/4 c. butter, softened

2 eggs

1 t. cinnamon

1 t. baking powder

3 T. boiling water

1 t. baking soda

2 1/2 c. flour

2 c. quick oats

Filling:

1 egg white (can omit)

2 T. milk

1 t. vanilla extract

2 c. confectioner’s sugar

3/4 c. shortening
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream butter with the brown sugar until light and fluffy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beat in the eggs and mix well.

Stir in the cinnamon, baking powder, boiling water, baking soda, and flour. Mix to combine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stir in the oats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drop cookies onto non-stick pans. I used a 1 T scoop, which I recommend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bake for 8-10 minutes. You’ll want the cookies to have a light brown color. Do not overbake! Let cookies cool, then pair cookies of similar shape together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Put around 1 t. of filling on one cookie and top with another cookie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continue until all cookies have been made into whoopie pies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To make the filling:

Beat egg white. Mix in milk, vanilla, and 1 c. confectioner’s sugar.  Beat in the shortening and remaining sugar. Beat until light.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 10:21:33

    Put a little dab of chocolate in the middle of the creme for a nice surprise! (Ottos always have to have a bit of chocolate.)

    Reply

  2. Erin Schuman
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 17:04:58

    I made these, yummy! But I don’t know if I did the cream part right, because I can taste the shortening… I used vegetable shortening (cause it is what I had). Any advice?!?! or maybe it is what it is suppose to taste like, I just thought it would be more of a cream taste… But the Oatmeal cookies are YUMMY!

    Reply

    • Dottilicious Sweets and Treats
      Aug 11, 2011 @ 07:06:42

      Did you use shortening from the big container? If you did, maybe the amount was off? When I used to get shortening from the big container, I’d always press it down hard into the measuring cup, and that would give me more than I needed. I used the shortening sticks, and they worked really well. Maybe try that?! Or…there is a marshmallow version you could try if this creme is too strange for you. I haven’t tried that kind of filling, but that may work better for your taste buds! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Erin Schuman
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 18:02:48

    THANKS I am going to try that! P.S. I brought these to work and they LOVED them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

