Chocolate Chip Bars

Growing up,  I used to be a huge fan of bars/brownies. My mom always made, and I believe still does, bars for my dad to take to work. Sunday would arrive and the question of “What kind of bars do you want this week?” would always be asked. Most of the time, my dad didn’t really care what kind of bars he got, so my mom had the task of finding recipes so my dad wasn’t eating the same ones week after week.

From a young age, I knew that I used to be the one who snuck into the bars. My mom would say I did it, and there was always proof to back up her story. Unlucky for me, I’ve always had an appetite for sweets! When I thought about starting my blog, the pictures of me sneaking in the bars were images I knew I would want to share at some point. Would can resist seeing a picture of a toddler with chubby cheeks eating bars?!  I was able to find the following two pictures in old photo albums my mom has.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bars I remember the most growing up were Chocolate Chip Bars. They are easy and quick to make, which is one reason why I think my mom would make them. Everything can be prepared in one pot, and then poured into your pan. Minimal dishes? Yes, please!  If you’re looking for a chewy, light, and delicious bar recipe, this is the one to try!

Chocolate Chip Bars

1/3 c. margarine

1/3 c. shortening

2 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs

2 c. flour

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 1/2 c. chocolate chips

 

In a large kettle, melt margarine and shortening together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remove from heat. Stir in brown sugar and vanilla.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stir in eggs. Mix in flour, baking soda, and baking powder.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour into a greased 9 x 13 pan.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 10:26:19

    YES!!!!!! Looks super easy… making these soon! mmm I want one!! Thank you for providing pictures, not to mention CUTE LITTLE BABY KATE PICTURES!!! I love you, by the way…

    Reply

  2. Wendy Paulson
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 14:23:40

    I so remember you at that age! It must be those early taste tests that got you hooked!

    Reply

  3. Jane
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 12:12:37

    You were cute! The bars were even cuter 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kate's mama
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 19:29:53

    I remember those times too!! It’d be quiet in the house and I’d go looking and there would be Kate in the brownie drawer. Once in a while I’d find her in the back of the pantry cupboard too. I just never knew where she’d show up and what she’d be eating!! That’s my kid!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

