Lemon Cupcakes

I love almost all things lemon. Lemon cake, lemon bread, lemon soap, lemon lotion…you get you the point! I was planning on making these lemon cupcakes last week, as I had some cake mixes I wanted to get rid of, and ended up waiting until this weekend due to my hectic schedule. No judging on the boxed mixes!  Sometimes they are just easier to use when you want to make a cake or cupcakes!

I noticed this lemon cupcake recipe a few years ago, and never got the chance before today to make them. The recipe is from Kraft’s Food and Family magazine, which I happen to really like. The magazine offers easy and quick recipes  that everybody can enjoy. I think I like it mostly because the recipes are truly no fuss. Sometimes, you just have to enjoy the simple things in life! 

The cupcake itself is a bit more dense, as dry pudding mix is added with the cake mix. I find that even though it’s not as light as your typical cupcake, it still makes for a delicious and lightly flavored treat. The recipe calls for a cream cheese frosting, but I chose to use a classic buttercream frosting, as Ryan isn’t a cream cheese fan. I mixed in some fresh lemon juice, and found the frosting to be quite delightful. It’s a perfect summer cupcake on a warm and sunny day like today!

Lemon Cupcakes

1 pkg. white cake mix (vanilla is fine too!)

1 pkg. (4-serving size) Jell-O Lemon Flavor instant pudding and pie filling

1 c. water

4 egg whites

2 Tbsp. oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat cake mix, dry pudding mix,water, egg whites, and oil in large bowl with electric mixer on low-speed until moistened. Note that the batter will be thick. Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Spoon batter evenly into 24 lined muffin cups.

Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Frost cupcakes with lemon buttercream, or frosting of your choice.

Lemon Buttercream Frosting

1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

3-4 c. confectioners sugar, sifted

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

up to 4 Tbsp. milk

1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice

Beat butter for a few minutes with a mixer with a paddle attachment on medium speed. (I’ve used a hand mixer, and it works just as well.) Add 3 cups of powdered sugar and turn your mixer on the lowest speed until the sugar has been incorporated with the butter. Increase mixer speed to medium and add vanilla extract, lemon juice, and 2 Tbsp of milk, and beat for 3 minutes.  If your frosting needs more of a stiff consistency, add remaining sugar. If your frosting needs to be thinned out, add remaining milk 1 Tbsp. at a time.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crizzle
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 22:08:29

    I WANT ONE NOW!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. crizzle
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 17:59:53

    I’m always scared when I read stuff like “4 egg whites” and immediately skip the recipe!! I have the ability to crack an egg and keep the yolk in, right?? It just sounds so hard!!

    Reply

  3. crizzle84
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:14:43

    Making these today, it’s my mother-in-law’s birthday, and she requested lemon cupcakes! I’ll let you know! (I practiced keeping the yolk in the other day and totally did it!) p.s. Just a thought – do you know what would happen if you just did the whole egg on a recipe like this that calls for egg whites?

    Reply

    • Dottilicious Sweets and Treats
      Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:24:55

      Go get’m wifey!! I’m not entirely sure what would happen- perhaps become more dense? I always follow the directions so I’ve never tried the whole egg instead of just the egg white. I have faith that you can separate perfectly though! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

